0 6 min 8 mths

Today, Miki Ratsula shares i’ll be fine if i want to, their gorgeous sophomore album out via Nettwerk – LISTEN HERE.

Known for using their powerful voice and platform to make music more inclusive, the acclaimed trans, nonbinary artist also shares the new video for early album single, “what would the neighbors think?.” On the song, Miki dexterously plucks out the ballad that looks at that looks at family and pain, and details the loss that is felt when you don’t receive love and acceptance from those you need it from the most. Watch the stunning and heart wrenching video, directed by Emma Kate Golden, here: https://youtu.be/OlA-PlJlUK0.

2023 has been a huge year for Ratsula. In addition to their current tour supporting their friend G-Flip (see dates below), they performed at both Los Angeles Pride and Nashville Pride, where they were met with a sea of fans singing along to their moving and powerful lyrics. They also released numerous powerful yet intimate singles including “if i blame myself” which INTO called “just as introspective and confessional as fans can rely on Ratsula to be”; blue balloons (ft. Semler)” which is about being unapologetically queer and emotionally unwavering after being misgendered at their birthday party; “jealous of my brother” which explores gender envy towards their cisgender brother but, peeling back the layers, reveals deeper pain and truths and even love and gratitude; and “lied to your therapist” featuring rising pop artist, OSTON, which was inspired by Miki and OSTON’s individual relationships with toxic former team members.

With i’ll be fine if i want to, Miki Ratsula has not only grown as a producer, musician and songwriter, but also as a person. Miki doesn’t ask but demands that the world take them as they are, whether they’re expressing joy, pain, or something in between. Vulnerable both in the lows and the highs, ultimately Miki’s impressive second album is about taking back a sense of self-worth, whatever that may look like day to day. Throughout the self-produced i’ll be fine if i want to, the artist transcends the singer-songwriter genre and effortlessly blends indie rock and bedroom pop with an electro undercurrent for a bigger, more evolved sound. They paint a gorgeous gradient that touches on everything from love and sorrow to envy and apathy, and all the way to outright anger with the unifying message being one of self-agency.

Miki Ratsula has been releasing music independently since they were 16, having racked up over 50 million streams in the process. Even before the release of their first 2022 full-length debut album i owe it to myself, the Finnish-American artist built a sizable audience by openly and honestly welcoming people into their world, from coming out to getting top surgery to struggles with mental health. Miki went on the road, completing their first national tour supporting Lauren Sanderson and Jordy, followed by dates with Ambar Lucid & Sammy Rae & The Friends. Not only has Miki connected more deeply with their audience over the past year, but they’ve also received praise and playlisting by the likes of Billboard Pride, them., Under the Radar, PopMatters, The Advocate, and more. They followed the album with their made for them EP, featuring gender-neutral covers of songs originally sung by Phoebe Bridgers, Harry Styles, and more.

‘i’ll be fine if i want to’ track listing

01 – wolf

02 – lied to your therapist (feat. OSTON)

03 – what would the neighbors think?

04 – jealous of my brother

05 – marching band

06 – sims 3

07 – sooner

08 – in my absence

09 – if i blame myself

10 – blue balloons (feat. Semler)

11 – foot something

12 – die or give up on driving

13 – unconditional

miki ratsula tour dates

  • 09.18 Santa Cruz, CA – The Catalyst Atrium
  • 09.19 Pomona, CA – The Glass House
  • 09.20 Santa Ana, CA – Constellation Room
  • 09.23 Phoenix, AZ – Valley Bar
  • 09.25 Dallas, TX – Studio at The Factory
  • 09.26 Houston, TX – Warehouse Live Studio
  • 09.27 Austin, TX – Cheer Up Charlies
  • 10.02 Charlotte, NC – Neighborhood Theatre
  • 10.03 Washington, DC – The Atlantis
  • 10.05 Philadelphia, PA – The Foundry at The Fillmore Philadelphia
  • 10.06 Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg
  • 10.07 Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
  • 10.09 Pittsburgh, PA – Thunderbird Café and Music Hall
  • 10.11 Nashville, TN – The End
  • 10.12 St. Louis, MO – Delmar Hall
  • 10.13 Chicago, IL – Park West
  • 10.15 Omaha, NE – Reverb Lounge
  • 10.17 Boulder, CO – Fox Theatre
  • 10.18 Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
  • 10.20 Salt Lake City, UT – The Kilby Court
  • 10.23 Seattle, WA – Neumos
  • 10.24 Portland, OR – Star Theatre
  • 10.26 San Francisco, CA – Popscene @ The Rickshaw Stop
  • 10.27 Los Angeles, CA – El Rey Theatre  **all dates with G-Flip – mikiratsula.com/tour

About The Author