0 3 min 7 mths

The wait is over for NUMB, the brand new album from rock band Have Mercy. Out now via Rude Records, NUMB marks the band’s first full-length since 2019’s The Love Life and features recent singles “Middle” and “Alive”. Fans can watch the new music video for “Numb” here: https://youtu.be/o-AwKZDi57w?si=NmujPDcOjeFVsRW8. Stream/purchase NUMB at https://music.ruderecords.com/NUMB.

Shares front man Brian Swindle: “The best music Have Mercy has written and released are the songs that happen organically. The songs that aren’t forced or influenced by people outside of the group. This record was just us three guys writing music because we enjoy it. It’s a challenge to write something cool. Lyrically, the record had no choice but to be influenced by my sobriety, new marriage, and repairing / disconnecting from relationships with people. Over the last couple of years, there have been a lot of changes. We’ve all had to face demons and come to grips with what our realities are and how to sustain a healthier lifestyle.

We wrote and recorded the majority of this record in my basement. It’s truly a homegrown record and to me it feels very reminiscent of our first record The Earth Pushed Back. It’s a band again, a group effort. I’m really happy that we’re all in each other’s lives again.”

About the title track he adds: “’Numb’ is a song about being completely emotionally drained. Trying every possible way to get your life together but never saying or doing the right things. I’m a person who is constantly tongue tied and getting lost in their own thoughts. Sometimes it feels like conveying my thoughts and feelings is more draining then therapeutic. The title kind of summed up the whole record.”

Have Mercy reunited last year and released new music for the first time since 2019, capturing the attention of Brooklyn Vegan, FLOOD Magazine, The Noise, and more. The self-titled EP features recent singles “Fast Car”, “SIO”, and “I’m Gonna Be Ok”, and is out now via ZODHIAC Records. Stream Have Mercy now here.

Following the EP, Have Mercy signed with international label Rude Records to release a CD re-pressing of their debut LP The Earth Pushed Back. They also shared a previously unreleased b-side from their 2012 EP, My Oldest Friend, titled “Seventeen”. Most recently the band covered Smashing Pumpkins’ “1979” for Changing Tides, a compilation of acoustic covers benefitting Sea Shepherd as part of Rude Records’ charitable arm Rude Cares.

For more information on Have Mercy, please visit: http://www.havemercymusic.com/.

About The Author