0 4 min 6 mths

Rock band Have Mercy are excited to announce their new album, NUMB, set to be released on December 8th via Rude Records. Fans can check out lead single and music video “Alive” now, here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLu8J1mGPOA. NUMB is available to pre-save/pre-order now at https://music.ruderecords.com/NUMB.

Shares front man Brian Swindle: “The best music Have Mercy has written and released are the songs that happen organically. The songs that aren’t forced or influenced by people outside of the group. This record was just us three guys writing music because we enjoy it. It’s a challenge to write something cool. Lyrically, the record had no choice but to be influenced by my sobriety, new marriage, and repairing / disconnecting from relationships with people. Over the last couple of years, there have been a lot of changes. We’ve all had to face demons and come to grips with what our realities are and how to sustain a healthier lifestyle.

We wrote and recorded the majority of this record in my basement. It’s truly a homegrown record and to me it feels very reminiscent of our first record The Earth Pushed Back. It’s a band again, a group effort. I’m really happy that we’re all in each other’s lives again.”

About lead single “Alive”, he adds: “‘Alive’ is about being stuck in toxic relationships. Whether that be with friends or significant others. To me, the lyrics reflect that feeling of codependency and trouble detaching from the situations you know you shouldn’t be in. It’s one of the first songs that we wrote for the record and we kind of knew immediately that it would be a single. It’s very reminiscent of our older sound while adding some new flavor.”

Have Mercy reunited last year and released new music for the first time since 2019, capturing the attention of Brooklyn Vegan, FLOOD Magazine, The Noise, and more. The self-titled EP features recent singles “Fast Car”, “SIO”, and “I’m Gonna Be Ok”, and is out now via ZODHIAC Records. Stream Have Mercy now here.

Following the EP, Have Mercy signed with international label Rude Records to release a CD re-pressing of their debut LP The Earth Pushed Back. They also shared a previously unreleased b-bisde from their 2012 EP, My Oldest Friend, titled “Seventeen”. Most recently the band covered Smashing Pumpkins’ “1979” for Changing Tides, a compilation of acoustic covers benefitting Sea Shepherd as part of Rude Records’ charitable arm Rude Cares.

Stayed tuned for more coming soon from Have Mercy at http://www.havemercymusic.com/.

For More Info on Have Mercy:

About The Author